Infinite Jest (David Foster Wallace)

“Mary had a little lamb, its fleece electrostatic / And everywhere Mary went, the lights became erratic.”
― David Foster Wallace, Infinite Jest

SO. F*CKING. LONG. DAVID.

GODDAMMITT. Just read the first 200 pages, when I realized, I didn’t have any idea what the book tell about. Thy mercy, O LORD, help me.

The first book ever that I labelled as ‘currently-reading’ on Goodreads. EVER. Ugh.

And, by searching on Google, i found it:

Will it be the toughest book I’ve ever faced? (source)

Ya ya ya. I must do the exact same thing. So, I’ll re-read it from the first page– what I mean is, from the introduction chapter–and I hope I’ll get 10 pages per week. It’s more difficult than the-other-goddammit-novel, Ulysses (James Joyce).

A Behemoth. A Gargantua. A Leviathan. A Gojira. A Kraken, A Colossus. A Giant.

 

Update 1: The complete review will come next century year―I wish.
Update 21088 Reasons You Should Read Infinite Jest.
Update 3: Whoever you are, thank you man! This map and this crazy diagram are very helpful, may God be pleased with you!
Update 4: What is the most regretful thing I ever missed? This and this.
Update 5: I don’t play tennis. Reading this mega-novel makes me want to play tennis. One is that Wallace’s grasp of tennis was truly prodigious. In this mega-novel, tennis is not only a game, but also a religion. Wallace is interested in – and writes – every aspect of the game, from its strategic complications and technical evolution through to sponsorship deals and methods of hydration. It was so massive that I think I read Holy Book of Tennis instead of a novel. His description about tennis is like Hemingway’s writing about bullfighting in The Sun Also Rises, and more complex (and more interesting) than Nabokov’s description about tennis match in Lolita. I spent 4 hours on Wikipedia just to read any articles which are related to tennis. And the only (and the most) interesting writing about tennis that I’ve ever read is written by DFW

2 thoughts on “Infinite Jest (David Foster Wallace)

  1. Pingback: Kumpulan Tulisan | melquiades caravan

  2. Pingback: Terbaik dan Terburuk di 2016 | melquiades caravan

Leave a Reply

